Home / Awards / CIBSE Building Performance Awards 2020 winners
The Engine Shed was named Building Performance Champion for 2020

CIBSE Building Performance Awards 2020 winners

The Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE) revealed the 2020 Building Performance Award winners in a recent ceremony held at the at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

A new focus on renovation and renewal emerged at the 2020 CIBSE Building Performance Awards: dramatic building performance achievements in existing and re-modelled buildings were celebrated, alongside ground-breaking new build projects and industry-leading teams.

The Awards showcase the highest achievements in building performance across the construction and property industry, and are the only awards in the built environment sector that are judged on actual, in-use performance rather than projections or designed performance.

The Facilities Management Award is presented to an FM team or project, whether in-house or outsourced, that delivers outstanding building performance from an individual building, a site with several buildings or a portfolio of assets. A clear focus on improving the user experience and quality of service made Singapore-based Yale-NUS College the judges’ choice for this award.

The 14-strong Infrastructure, Safety and Security Office – supported by outsourcing partners – is responsible for FM at the college, which has about 1,200 staff and students. The judges were particularly struck by how it adopted “effective tools and upskilling of its team” to deliver good results.

The Engine Shed, at the heart of Scotland’s new Building Conservation Centre, was named Building Performance Champion for 2020. Transforming redundant Ministry of Defence buildings, this glorious project, entered by engineering firm Max Fordham, also won the Public Use project category.

The new Retrofit category was won by the Bartlett School of Architecture building, 22 Gordon Street. Entered by BuroHappold this project demonstrates the potential for huge improvement in existing buildings.

The Bartlett School of Architecture building

Other winners included the Institute of Physics headquarters entered by AECOM, and Elementa Consulting and BuroHappold Engineering in the consultancy categories. The Victoria-based HVAC Centre of Excellence – established to address the chronic shortage of building services professionals in Australia – won the Learning and Development category.

The full list of winners are as follows:






About Sarah OBeirne


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *