Home / Awards / IWFM reveals 2019 award winners

IWFM reveals 2019 award winners

Last night (14 October) saw the FM industry come together at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London for the inaugural IWFM Awards.

Hosted by BBC comedy star Hugh Dennis, 2019’s occasion was the first since the Institute’s name change last year and the nineteenth since it all began 2001.

Thirteen winners were revealed from forty-five finalists across the themes of Impact, Innovation and People. The Awards celebrate the profession’s finest, honouring those whose outstanding work has driven innovation and created an impact through a range of projects, products and partnerships.

A new Profound Impact award, recognising an individual whose contribution has had a positive and lasting impact on the profession went to Samantha West, a transgendered female, celebrated for how she had turned a deeply personal journey into an open conversation inspiring others to live their own truth, and sparking an industry-wide movement for changing attitudes and embracing diversity.

In his first formal Awards engagement since taking up the position in the summer, IWFM Chairman Martin Bell said: “Occasions like tonight, where we focus on our best, really help us to evidence our impact to those beyond our world; championing the difference that excellence in workplace and facilities management can make and demonstrating our contribution to broader organisational success.

 “Our profession is about people. The people we enable through our best work, to do their best work. As we adapt to a fast-changing, more integrated world, understanding, encouraging and embracing our diverse talents can only be an asset.”

The evening also spelt farewell to outgoing Chair of Judges Steve Gladwin, who steps down after six years. He said: “We celebrate forty-five outstanding organisations and individuals tonight, who represent what makes our profession so fantastic, and why I will miss this position so much!

“We judges have worked hard over the years to ensure that a robust and transparent process surrounds this prestigious competition. We take pride in our approach which stands as a mark of quality for its independence and objectivity and which sets the IWFM Awards apart.”

 IWFM Award Winners 2019

Recognising those making a difference not only in the workplace and facilities management profession but also wider society in the areas of customer experience, the environment, organisational performance and social value.

Celebrating stand-out products, services and relationships that help to improve processes, including service delivery, as well as assisting with challenges facing the profession.

Highlighting the humans making a difference to the profession, the teams, the newbies, the managers and leaders whose talent and dedication underpins it all.

Bell also named two charities, the National Autistic Society and the Ethical Property Foundation, the former adopted by the Chairman for his tenure and the latter selected as the IWFM’s charity partner for a five-year term.



About Sarah OBeirne


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *