Home / Announcements / Nominations open for WeAreTheCity’s 2022 Rising Star Awards

Nominations open for WeAreTheCity’s 2022 Rising Star Awards

WeAreTheCity, together with the Royal Bank of Canada, have opened nominations for their 2022 Rising Star Awards.

Now in its eighth year, the Rising Star Awards are the first to focus on the UK’s female talent pipeline below management level. Its strategic goal, set in 2015, aims to showcase 1,000 outstanding women by 2025.

The 2022 awards will recognise and celebrate a further 100 female individual contributors from over 20 different industries that represent the leaders and role models of tomorrow. These winners will join WeAreTheCity award’s alumni of 750 previous winners, across the UK and India.

Alongside the Rising Star categories, WeAreTheCity is also calling for nominations for Champions, Global Award for Achievement, Men for Gender Balance and a Company of the Year.

The Champion award recognises the achievements of five senior individuals, of any gender, who are actively supporting the female pipeline outside of their day job. Nominations for this award are individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to gender, e.g. HeForShe supporters, network leaders, directors, MD’s & C-Suite individuals who are championing women either inside or outside their organisations.

The Men for Gender Balance category is for men who are championing women and gender balance either inside or outside their organisation. Nominees must be at least Director level (or equivalent) or above, and must demonstrate that they have actively supported the female pipeline either through their current work role or external activities.

The Company of the Year award recognises the achievements of a company who can clearly demonstrate that they are actively supporting its female talent pipeline through their initiatives, training, development programmes and internal employee relations and diversity network groups.

The Global Award for Achievement category expands WeAreTheCity’s search for global talent. This category is a female individual who works within any industry, outside of the UK, whose current position is below director level.

Recognising that careers for women may follow different timescales, the Rising Star Awards do not have any age restrictions included within the criteria.

The nominations process is now open for all categories. A shortlist of 10 women from each industry category will be chosen by an esteemed panel of judges and will be published in April. The shortlist will then be open to a public vote. Judging for the final five winners for each category will take place with independent judges in May. The winners will be announced on 24 May and will be invited to celebrate their award at a prestigious ceremony on 14 July (further details to be announced).

Award’s Categories

• Rising Stars in All Other Industries

• Rising Stars in Banking & Capital Markets

• Rising Stars in Charity & Not-For-Profits

• Rising Stars in Defence

• Rising Stars in Digital

• Rising Stars in Diversity

• Rising Stars in EA/PA

• Rising Stars in Education & Academia

• Rising Stars in Energy & Utilities • Rising Stars – Entrepreneurs & Start-Ups

• Rising Stars in Healthcare

• Rising Stars in Hospitality

• Rising Stars in Infrastructure, Transport & Logistics

• Rising Stars in Insurance

• Rising Stars in Investment Management

• Rising Stars in Law (The Lynne Freeman Award)

• Rising Stars in Professional Services

• Rising Stars in Science & Engineering

• Rising Stars in Technology

• Rising Star Champions

• Company of the Year

• Men for Gender Balance

• Global Award for Achievement

About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *