Home / Awards / Record number of organisations receive a British Safety Council International Safety Award 

Record number of organisations receive a British Safety Council International Safety Award 

The British Safety Council has revealed the winners of its prestigious International Safety Awards for 2023, with the highest ever number of organisations around the world receiving a highly prized accolade for their work in health, safety, and wellbeing.

This year, 773 organisations of all sizes and sectors won an International Safety Award from 44 countries worldwide, including the UK, China, India and the Middle East, as well as countries in Africa, Southeast Asia, and Central and South America. One hundred and thirty-eight organisations were awarded a Distinction, 298 organisations were awarded a Merit and 337 organisations achieved a Pass.

The number of successful entries this year was significantly higher than in 2022, when 549 awards were given out. While slightly more Distinctions were awarded, the increase was driven largely by a rise in Merit awards – up from 204 (32 per cent) in 2022 to 298 (31 per cent) in 2023, and by Passes – up from 210 (33 per cent) to 337 (35 per cent). The percentage of applicants who were unsuccessful in their application also rose, from 91 (14 per cent) to 199 (20 per cent).

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of British Safety Council, said: “Our International Safety Awards recognise the highest achievements of organisations around the world in health, safety and wellbeing. This year, I am thrilled that a record number of organisations have attained that level and won an award. In a world of ever-increasing risks, from climate change to global instability, British Safety Council’s vision that no-one, anywhere in the world, should be injured or made ill through their work is ever more important and pressing.

“To win an International Safety Award organisations must show they are investing in employees’ health, safety and wellbeing and that everyone from the top down make health and safety a core part of their work and inspire others to do the same. In celebrating the achievements of the 773 winners in 2023, we encourage other organisations to follow their lead and place employees’ health and safety at the heart of their business.”

The winners span numerous sectors with significant representation from the construction, manufacturing, oil, gas and mining, and power and utility sectors and include such companies as Kier Infrastructure and Overseas Ltd (UK), L&T Construction (India), WSP (Middle East), SunExpress Airlines (Turkey), Zublin Construction LLC (UAE) and China Construction Seventh Engineering Division. Corp. Ltd (China).

The full list of winners is here.

There will be two separate events to celebrate the awards in May, one in Mumbai on 10 May and one in London on 19 May. Other International Safety Award categories will be announced at the Gala Dinner in London as well as in Safety Management magazine.

Metro Rod Drainage and Plumbing Survey

With the current economic crisis resulting in higher prices and more of a squeeze on resources, FMs need to ensure that they have robust building and maintenance services in place to control costs and reduce the need for emergency repairs. When it comes to drainage and plumbing there are also the challenges of dealing with extreme weather, from droughts to flooding, the need to meet stringent regulations and to avoid causing environmental damage.

UK drainage specialist, Metro Rod, has launched a survey which explores the main areas of interest for FMs in maintaining drainage and plumbing, including how they currently assess their supply chains to ensure they’re working with partners that meet the highest possible standards and provide value for money.

The results will be published online so that you can see how you compare to others within the sector.

The survey should take just 5-10 minutes of your time, and as a thank you, you will be entered into a prize draw, where one lucky winner will be picked at random to receive a £100 Amazon voucher.

To take part click here.


About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *