Home / Awards / CIBSE Building Performance Awards winners 2022
McDonald’s Global Flagship outlet, winner for Cyclone Energy Group in the Project of the Year Retail / Leisure category

CIBSE Building Performance Awards winners 2022

The Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE) revealed the 2022 Building Performance Award winners in a recent ceremony held at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London.

Now in its 15th year, the CIBSE Building Performance Awards is the only awards scheme to celebrate the measured performance of projects and products in use while celebrating the engineering consultancies and manufacturers that are contributing to a low carbon future.

Consultant Hoare Lea was recognised for its work with Legal & General Investment Management. It won the Facilities Management category for its initiative in placing a building performance engineer at the heart of every facilities management project to proactively improve the facilities management process in multi-tenanted buildings. The judges described Hoare Lea as “The standout winner with a different approach to an industry-wideproblem”.

Consultant Max Fordham LLP won three awards. Its work in exploring a carbon neutral design for the new Library and Study Centre at St John’s College, Oxford won both Project of the Year – Public Use and Building Performance Champion of Champions Award.

Cyclone Energy Group won the Project of the Year – Retail/Leisure, for its work with McDonald’s Corporation in designing what is believed to be the world’s first net zero quick service restaurant at Walt Disney World, Florida.

The restaurant’s all-electric design has an annual energy consumption goal of 666,000 kWh, while the solar panels installed on the restaurant’s roof produce 705,000 kWh of renewable energy – enabling the quick service restaurant to generate more energy than it consumes over the course of a year.

Michael Lonsdale Group was another winner. The contractor won the Embodied Carbon Award for its pioneering work with suppliers to create a database of low embodied carbon products that enable it to recommend low carbon building services systems to its clients.

Buro Happold won the Building Performance Consultancy (over 300 employees). The consultancy impressed the panel with their reporting of key metrics across the range of questions; for example explicitly quantifying the impacts of interventions undertaken to improve equality, diversity and inclusion and to reduce the carbon impacts of their own operations. The panel was also impressed by the measure detailed to maintain and improve internal and external virtual collaboration during unprecedented pandemic conditions.

FairHeat won the Collaboration Award for its work with Origin Housing and Hill Group. The award recognised Fairheat’s approach to the design and delivery of an ultra-low temperature, low carbon heat network to serve 116 new apartments for affordable rent, shared ownership and private sale.

Other winners included: Buro Happold and XCO2 in the Building Performance Consultancy categories; Signify, Knauf Insulation & Knauf Energy Solutions, and Water Kinetics in the Product or Innovation categories; while Mike Burton of AECOM was Building Performance Engineer of the Year.

Hywel Davies, Technical Director of organisers the Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers, said: “Pressure is growing to improve the performance of our building stock to make it safer, healthier and more energy efficient. These awards showcase some of the best examples of projects and products that are helping drive forward improvements in building performance.”

 The 2022 CIBSE Building Performance Awards winners in full are:

Building Performance Consultancy (up to 50 employees)
Sponsored by: Mitsubishi Electric
Winner: XCO2

Building Performance Consultancy (51–300 employees)
Sponsored by : AirFlow
Winner: Max Fordham LLP

Building Performance Consultancy (over 300 employees)
Sponsored by: ABB
Winner: Buro Happold

Sponsored by: Lochinvar
Winner: FairHeat

Embodied Carbon Award
Winner: Michael Lonsdale Group

Facilities Management
Sponsored by : Gratte Brothers
Winner: Hoare Lea

Learning and Development
Sponsored by: Smoke and Fire Safety
Winner: Indo-Swiss Building Energy Efficiency Project

Product or Innovation – Thermal Comfort
Sponsored by: CIBSE Patrons
Winner: Knauf Insulation & Knauf Energy Solutions – closing the performance gap

Product or Innovation – Air Quality [Wellbeing category on entry form] Winner: Signify – UV-C Upper Air Disinfection Luminaires

Product or Innovation – Wellbeing
Sponsored by: Tamlite
Winner: Water Kinetics – Eco-Duo

Project of the Year – Retail / Leisure
Sponsored by: Crane Fluid Systems
Winner: McDonald’s Global Flagship – Cyclone Energy Group

Project of the Year – Healthcare
Sponsored by: Crane Fluid Systems
Winner: Clatterbridge Cancer Centre – AECOM

Project of the Year – Public Use
Sponsored by: Crane Fluid Systems
Winner: St John’s College, Oxford, Library and Study Centre – Max Fordham LLP

Building Performance Engineer of the Year
Sponsored by: Ideal Heating
Winner: Mike Burton, AECOM

Building Performance Champion 
Sponsored by: Tamlite
Winner: St John’s College, Oxford, Library and Study Centre – Max Fordham LLP

About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *