Home / Announcements / Winners of the Rising Star Awards 2022 are announced

Winners of the Rising Star Awards 2022 are announced

WeAreTheCity, together with the Royal Bank of Canada, have revealed the winners of their 2022 Rising Star Awards.

Now in their eighth year, the awards are the first to focus on the UK’s female talent pipeline below management level, celebrating 100 individual female contributors that represent the leaders and role models of tomorrow.

The awards were entered by over 1,000 individuals and were judged by a panel of over 40 independent judges. Over 35,000 public votes of support were received for the 200 shortlisted nominees from across 115 countries.

The list of winners showcases remarkable women within the UK from across 20 categories representing different industries and professions. Those highlighted include Ebinehita Iyere, Founder of Milk Honey Bees, working with young people who encounter the youth justice system and those who are impacted by violence in the community; Chanelle Smith, a Medical Student who is an ambassador for the Captain Tom Foundation and features in the children’s book honouring Captain Sir Tom Moore; and Law Student Sheekeba Nasimi, who leads the legal clinic at the Afghanistan and Central Asian Association, a charity dedicated to improving the lives of Afghans and all refugees in London.

The awards also include a Company of the Year prize, awarded to r10 Consulting. r10 is a management consultancy, focused on helping the global insurance market embrace change through business and technology transformation.

The awards also recognise five Rising Star Champions, who are actively supporting the progression of women in the workplace. These include Kanika Selvan, Associate Director of Data and Technology at the University of Sheffield, the youngest member of her leadership team and a committed advocate for diversity; Sam Cooper-Gray, Global Head of Market Strategy and Engagement at HSBC, where she advocates for male allyship across the firm through its global Balance network; and Marie Hemingway, Founder and CTO of the award-winning not-for-profit, Speak Out Revolution.

The awards once again celebrated women around the world with its Global Award for Achievement. This year’s winners include Anna Raduloski, who founded WomenTech Network, a woman-led and woman-focused organisation to empower women globally through mentorship, career development and networking; Aparna Saroagi, who is spearheading inclusive workplace practices at NatWest in India; and Jennifer Kent, a Senior Associate in Latham’s Washington, D.C. office, who is passionate about advancing diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.

The awards also celebrated Men for Gender Balance, which recognises senior men who are championing women and gender balance either inside or outside their organisation. Amongst the winners for this year are Richard Pickard, Founder of Inclusive Search, an advocate for TLA Black Women in Tech and the 30% Club, and the Author of the ‘Exceptional Female Role Model’s interview series; Lee Chambers, a Psychologist, Coach and Founder of Essentialise Workplace Wellbeing, a wellbeing and inclusion consultancy; and William Torrie who serves as the UK Deputy Chair for Barclay’s Win group and is widely recognised for his campaign for gender equality.

WeAreTheCity also announced its Editor’s Choice winners. Those receiving the Editor’s Choice award are individuals who have been specifically selected by the leadership team at WeAreTheCity and one independent judge. This award recognises their outstanding contribution and tireless efforts towards gender equality, both in the workplace and across wider society.

Winners include Preet Chandi, who recently became the first woman of colour to complete a solo expedition in Antarctica; Ian Clarke, Founder of Deilight Consulting, who holds the Millennium Volunteers Award for Excellence for a lifetime dedicated to mentoring, coaching and counselling disadvantaged young people and their businesses; and Frances Scott, Founder and Director of 50:50 Parliament, who is a passionate advocate for gender equality of representation.

Vanessa Vallely OBE, Managing Director, WeAreTheCity, said: “I am so proud that for the eighth year running WeAreTheCity has been able to shine a light on the achievements of so many remarkable women across the UK. Our 2022 winners join a phenomenal alumnus of 750 previous winners who continue to soar, both professionally and personally. I am ecstatic to welcome our 2022 winners to the WeAreTheCity family and to watch them progress into the senior positions they so rightly deserve.”

The 2022 winners, judges, sponsors and supporters will be invited to a prestigious ceremony on 14 July at Pan Pacific Hotel, Bishopsgate, London.

To view the full list of winners click here.


About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *