Home / Awards / IWFM unveils 2023 Impact Awards winners

IWFM unveils 2023 Impact Awards winners

The Institute of Workplace and Facilities Management (IWFM) has announced the winners of its IWFM Impact Awards 2023.

From boosting the Wales Millennium Centre’s energy efficiency to fostering diversity and inclusion among young people, 2023’s IWFM Impact Awards witnessed a record number of finalists in its 20 categories, spanning topics such as social value, positive climate action and wellbeing.

The event, which took place on Monday 16 October at JW Marriott Grosvenor House London, celebrated 86 finalists – including organisations, initiatives and professionals – that had demonstrated recent excellence.

Mark Griffiths acted as Chair of this year’s Judging Panel, while Sarah Hodge MSc CIWFM served as Deputy Chair; in total, over 70 judges participated. The Awards were hosted by actor, producer and writer Sally Phillips.

2023 is a notable occasion, marking the Institute’s thirtieth anniversary. In the words of Mark Whittaker, Chair of IWFM, the organisation has been “advancing our profession and optimising its impact, by empowering and enabling workplace and facilities managers through professional recognition”.

In keeping with IWFM’s ‘Get moving on sustainability: a campaign for change’ initiative, this year’s Awards were the most sustainable yet, with changes to the menu, event materials and travel arrangements intended to reduce the carbon footprint.

2023 IWFM Impact Awards Winners

Excellence in Customer Experience
Sponsored by Landsec
Winner: Applicant to Alumni – Supporting our residents through innovation, Sodexo

Workplace Experience: Non-office/Corporate Environment
Winner: MOJ Shower pods, Amey

Workplace Experience: Office/Corporate Environment
Sponsored by Arcus FM
Winner: UCAS WOW!

Positive Climate Action: Small Organisation (<250 employees)
Sponsored by GSH Group
Winner: Solar PV project, Wales Millennium Centre

Positive Climate Action: Large Organisation (>250 employees)
Sponsored by CEF
Winner: Together Further for Climate: Carbon Reduction Plan Initiative, Bouygues Energies & Services
Highly commended: Peterborough Project, Johnsons 1871 and DEFRA

Social Value
Sponsored by Waste to Wonder Worldwide
Winner: Junior Chef Academy, ESS Defence

Sponsored by SBFM
Winner: Ireland’s Fittest Workplace Challenge, Zevo Health

Change Management
Winner: Pareto FM, Claremont & Flutter Entertainment partnership

Product or Service Development
Sponsored by Rexel UK
Winner: SDG12 in Action, JPA Workspaces

Sponsored by Kier Places
Winner: Project Oculus, Churchill

Sponsored by Waste to Wonder Worldwide
Winner: Landsec Aspire

Best SME Led Innovation
Winner: ESG Innovation, Pareto FM
Highly commended: CAFM system innovation, Linaker

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Initiative
Sponsored by Thomson FM
Winner: Real Estate Diversity & Inclusion, Meta & JLL

People Development and Talent Retention
Sponsored by Equans
Winner: E.ON and Mitie

Frontline Heroes
Sponsored by Linaker
Winner: Jackie Kennedy, 14forty

Team of the Year: Public or Third Sector
Sponsored by Premier Technical Services Group
Winner: Estates and Facilities Team, The British Antarctic Survey
Highly commended: Safe2GoHome, Guy’s and St. Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust

Team of the Year: Private Sector
Sponsored by Premier Technical Services Group
Winner: Desalination and Distribution Systems, King Abdullah University of Science & Technology

IWFM Newcomer of the Year
Sponsored by 14forty
Winner: Darwin Lloyd, ISS UK

IWFM Manager of the Year
Sponsored by Jones FM
Winner: Prithika Selvadurai, Salisbury (part of Atlas FM)

IWFM Leader of the Year
Sponsored by Waste to Wonder Worldwide
Winner: Dominic Ponniah, Cleanology

Reflecting on the Awards, IWFM CEO Linda Hausmanis stated: “On the 30th anniversary of IWFM, I’d like to express my admiration for all entrants and the valuable work they’ve demonstrated. The Awards categories touch on some of the most pressing issues of our time, so to witness such a wide variety of beneficial outcomes attests to the importance of workplace and facilities management. It’s vital to recognise the central role of professionals in helping businesses achieve success and effectively deliver.

“Despite ever-changing conditions, I look forward to seeing how the profession continues to overcome challenges and make the most of opportunities. I’d like to express a huge thank you to our sponsors who made the Awards possible, especially our headline sponsor, Waste to Wonder, for their dedication to Corporate Social Responsibility and enabling businesses to pursue sustainability. Well done to all winners and finalists, plus a massive thanks to our judges, organisers and attendees.”

About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *